Undergraduate Scholarships

The C&J department offers students from the various curriculum tracks the opportunity to apply for any number of scholarships or financial awards. Please complete an application for each scholarship you are applying for.

Applications for undergraduate scholarships for the 2018-19 academic year are now being accepted. Please download and print the application (PDF) and submit a hard copy, along with any other materials requested on the form, to the Communication and Journalism office by 5 p.m. Monday, April 1, 2019.

Scholarship recipients will be notified by May 3, 2019.

In addition to this material, you can contact the College of Arts and Sciences scholarship information page and the UNM scholarships page. You also can read the C&J department's Scholarship Board in the main lobby or ask at the front office.

Available Scholarships

Name of ScholarshipAcademic AreaRequirementsAmount
Albuquerque Press Club Endowment Any C&J Major New Mexico H.S. Graduates; C&J Students. 

This endowed scholarship is awarded annually to a deserving journalism or communication scholar who is a graduate of a New Mexico high school and who has demonstrated a high standard of academic ability. 

John J. Aragon Memorial Scholarship Journalism Hispanics; Journalism Majors; 2.5 GPA. 

Named for Mr. Aragon, a UNM Journalism graduate, this award helps support an Hispanic student majoring in Journalism who demonstrates a high standard of academic achievement and scholastic ability.

Jim Crow Memorial Scholarship Journalism/Strategic Communication Native Americans; 2.5 GPA $600
Joanne D. Dowler Scholarship for Excellence in Intercultural Communication Intercultural Communication Intercultural Emphasis in Communication; 3 GPA $750
Eilene C. Durgin Memorial Scholarship for Multimedia Journalism Print, Broadcast, Radio and/or Multimedia Journalism Female; undergraduate student; GPA of 2.5 minimum; demonstrate financial need. $700
Doris Gregory/New Mexico Press Women Scholarship Strategic Communication/Journalism

New Mexico Residents; Financial Need.  Apply for this scholarship by clicking here.

Cary Hertz Memorial Scholarship/New Mexico Press Women Journalism/Photography New Mexico Residents/Photojournalists
Carolyn Hunsley Scholarship Any C&J Major Females $100
Peggy Ann Hutchinson Memorial Scholarship

This memorial gift provides undergraduate internships in Washington, DC.  Students will work directly with various news agencies and public relations and advertising companies that primarily serve the political community.

W.A. Kelleher Scholarship Journalism/Strategic Communication Sophomores or Juniors
Jeanette King Scholarship Journalism/Strategic Communication Photojournalists; 2.5 GPA. 

An endowed scholarship, this award is named for Jeanette King, a photography student of journalism in Communication & Journalism.  The fund was established by her family to support exceptional women students majoring in Journalism with an emphasis on photojournalism.

David Barbour Media Ethics Prize Journalism (undergrad or grad student) 7-20 page paper on media bias or gatekeeping $1000
New Mexico Chapter, Public Relations Society of America Endowed Public Relations Scholarship Journalism with a concentration in Public Relations GPA of 2.5 or better.  Dues paying member of PRSSA.  Enrolled as a full-time student in the prblic relation specialty. $400
Ernie Pyle Legacy Foundation Scholarship Journalism (full- or part-time student in good standing) Submit 500-1,000 word essay on the subject "Ernie Pyle's Legacy to Journalism" $1000
Kelly Richmond Scholarship Communication or Journalism (Sophomore or above) Emphasis will be given to someone who works on the Lobo, is a Debater, or is interested in polical science. $700
Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Scholarship Media Demonstrated financial need.  Enrolled full time in Creative Media and Film program.  Student's permanent address resided in the regional area that is represented by the RMSWNATAS chapter.  May be renewed if student reapplies and maintains a minimum GPA of 3.0. $1000
Stuart Walker Memorial Scholarship Journalism

Two scholarships benifiting full-time students. One in the department of Communication and Journalism for a Graduate student or at least a third year undergraduate student majoring in Journalism with a concentration in Broadcast.

The second in the College of Education's Special Education Department.