Scholarships and Awards


The C&J department offers students from the various curriculum tracks the opportunity to apply for any number of scholarships or financial awards. Please complete an application using the "CLICK HERE TO APPLY" button above. 

Applications for undergraduate scholarships for the 2022-2023 academic year are now being accepted. Please submit your application through link above, along with any other materials requested on the form, to by 5 p.m. on April 22, 2022. 

Scholarship recipients will be notified by mid-May, 2022

For more information, you can check out the College of Arts and Sciences scholarship information page and the UNM scholarships page. You also can reach out to the C&J front office with questions. 

Available Scholarships

Name of ScholarshipAcademic AreaRequirementsAmount
Albuquerque Press Club EndowmentAny C&J MajorNew Mexico H.S. Graduates; and C&J major. 

This endowed scholarship is awarded annually to a deserving journalism or communication scholar who is a graduate of a New Mexico high school and who has demonstrated a high standard of academic ability. 

John J. Aragon Memorial Scholarship JournalismHispanic students; Journalism Major; 2.5 GPA. 

Named for Mr. Aragon, a UNM Journalism graduate, this award helps support an Hispanic student majoring in Journalism who demonstrates a high standard of academic achievement and scholastic ability.

Jim Crow Memorial ScholarshipJournalism/Strategic CommunicationNative American students; 2.5 GPA$600
Joanne D. Dowler Scholarship for Excellence in Intercultural CommunicationIntercultural CommunicationIntercultural Emphasis in Communication; 3.0 GPA$750
Eilene C. Durgin Memorial Scholarship for Multimedia JournalismPrint, Broadcast, Radio and/or Multimedia JournalismFemale students; undergraduate student; GPA of 2.5 minimum; demonstrate financial need.$700
Carolyn Hunsley ScholarshipAny C&J MajorFemale students$100
W.A. Kelleher ScholarshipJournalism/Strategic CommunicationSophomores or Juniors
Jeanette King ScholarshipJournalism/Strategic CommunicationPhotojournalists; 2.5 GPA. 

An endowed scholarship, this award is named for Jeanette King, a photography student of journalism in Communication & Journalism.  The fund was established by her family to support exceptional women students majoring in Journalism with an emphasis on photojournalism.

David Barbour Media Ethics PrizeJournalism (undergrad or grad student)7-20 page paper on media bias or gatekeeping$1000
Ernie Pyle Legacy Foundation ScholarshipJournalism (full- or part-time student in good standing)Purpose of Scholarship: To honor beloved American journalist, Ernest “Ernie" Pyle, a 1944 Pulitzer Prize winning war correspondent who called Albuquerque home. Pyle was a unique reporter whose journalism skills covered a vast array of topics. He had the ability to reach out and make common folks feel comfortable sharing their stories in both good and hard times.

Sponsor: The Ernie Pyle Legacy Foundation.

Guidelines:  This $500 scholarship will be awarded to a master storyteller who writes in the style of Ernie Pyle. Their stories should reflect great storytelling built on excellent journalism skills.

How to Earn the Scholarship:
In addition to the online application, please send a 500-1000 word story written in the style of Ernie Pyle as MSWord Document attachment to Michelle Baca ( by the scholarship deadline.
Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences ScholarshipMediaDemonstrated financial need.  Enrolled full time in Creative Media and Film program.  Student's permanent address resided in the regional area that is represented by the RMSWNATAS chapter.  May be renewed if student reapplies and maintains a minimum GPA of 3.0.$1000
Stuart Walker Memorial ScholarshipJournalism

Two scholarships benefiting full-time students. One in the department of Communication and Journalism for a Graduate student or at least a third year undergraduate student majoring in Journalism with a concentration in Broadcast.

The second in the College of Education's Special Education Department.


Sunny505 Award 


Strategic Communication 

 Concentration in Strategic Communication 

This prize involves (a) an unpaid internship at Sunny505 and (b) coverage of the cost of in-state tuition for 15+ credits for the Fall 2022 semester, with the possibility of being renewed for the Spring 2023 semester pending approval by the donor.

Kelly Richmond Award/Scholarship

Any C&J Major

Minimum GPA of 2.5; enrolled in a minimumn of 9 credits; students working on the Lobo will receive special consideration.


NMPRSA Award/Scholarship

Any C&J MajorStudents specializing in public relations; applicants must submit a writing sample defining career goals in public relations. $250

Richard Schaefer Communications Scholarship

CommunicationsCommunication majors; concentration in intercultural communication, interpersonal communication, health communication, organizational communication, environmental communication, or media studies$1,000

Richard Schaefer Student Support Scholarship 

Any C&J MajorUndergraduate students with demonstrated financial need $1,000